Here’s How To Renew Your Driver’s License In Florida
Published Dec 19, 2021
Just like every country and city in the world, driving a vehicle in the Sunshine State requires a valid driver’s license. And if you’re reading this, then your license has probably expired or is about to. No worries. In this post, we’ll guide you on how to renew Florida driver’s license.
Every state has its own laws and processes to renew Florida driver’s license. In Florida, a driver’s license is only valid for eight years. But drivers 80 years and older need to renew their license every six years. You can renew your license in person, online (if you qualify), and by mail.
You don’t really have to renew your license on the exact day it will expire. The state allows you to renew your license up to 18 months before expiration. But if your license has expired, the state allows no grace period. This means that you can get a ticket and pay a fine even if your license has only expired for a day.
A request for replacement of your license card may also be made before its expiration date if:
- you changed your address
- your license card was lost or stolen
- your name has changed
- you want to add or update any information in your credential
If you have a valid driver’s license from another state before coming to Florida, it can also be considered a renewal.
How to Renew Florida Driver’s License in Person
Renewing a Florida driver’s license in person is pretty straightforward. Driver’s license service centers are located throughout the state. Just visit the nearest you or see the complete list of locations here. You can just walk in, but the FLSHMV recommends making an appointment.
To renew driver’s license Florida, you need to:
- surrender your current license
- provide documents proving your identity or any change in the information you want to make
How to Renew Florida Driver’s License Online
If you’re wondering whether you can renew your license online, yes, you can. But only if you qualify. You can’t use the state’s online license renewal system if:
- it’s your first time getting a Florida driver’s license or license card
- you’re not a REAL ID-compliant
- you want to update your photo
- you’ve already used your one-time online convenience renewal
- you’re changing your name or updating your designation
- you’re renewing a commercial driver license
- your license has the word “temporary” written on it
- you’re not a US citizen or permanent resident
To start your online license renewal, just go to this website and enter the required information. After completing the order, you can expect your credentials in the mail within 7-10 business days. Remember that you can only use this option once, so use it wisely.
What Documents Do You Need?
As mentioned, there are documents you need to submit when renewing your driver’s license. First, you need papers to prove your identity. If you are a US citizen, you will need to bring two documents proving your identity, such as:
- birth certificate
- naturalization papers
- social security number
- For foreign nationals, accepted documents include:
- permanent resident card
- immigration judge’s order
You will also need documents to prove you live in Florida, such as:
- a Florida voter registration card
- a payslip with your address
- your vehicle registration form
If you request a change in name, you’ll need to provide a marriage certificate or a court order proving the name change.
The FHSMV will also need proof of your social security number. For this, you can submit school records or a valid driver’s license from another state (if any).
If you have not been issued a license since January 1, 2010, you’ll need to bring proof of your address and social security number in addition to identity documents.
How Much Does It Cost?
The cost of renewing a driver’s license in Florida depends on the type of license you have, what tests you need to take, and any applicable penalties or fees.
For a class E license, the renewal fee is $48, while a commercial driver’s license will cost you $75. However, a schoolboard commercial driver’s license costs only $48. If you’re requesting a license card replacement, you need to pay $25. On top of that, you also have to pay an additional $6.25 service fee. For a complete list of fees and penalties, you can refer to the FLHSMV website.
Lost Your Birth Certificate? Request A Replacement Online
Instant Vital Records offers a birth certificate replacement service you can use from the comfort of your home. Enter your information and our software will automatically complete the required forms for your state. We print and mail your forms along with required payments to your state health department. You can trust that we take your personal information privacy and security seriously with HIPAA compliant data storage and data encryption. To get started, simply click here to begin your application. Your replacement documents will arrive by mail to your home within a few weeks.
About The Author
Judy Ponio is a professional writer and SEO specialist. She works hard to ensure her work uses accurate facts by cross checking reputable sources. She is the lead author for several prominent websites covering a variety of topics including law, health, nutrition, and more.